YOU COULD BE THE 2022 NIE TEACHER OF THE YEAR

ARE YOU

an educator in Citrus, Hernando, Hillsborough, Manatee, Pasco, Pinellas or Polk county

DO YOU use the *Tampa Bay Times* in your classroom in an innovative, meaningful manner

Entries will be accepted Nov. 1, 2021 - Feb. 15, 2022









Elizabeth Crawley 2018 and 2021 NIE Teacher of the Year



Tiffany Southwell, 2020 NIE Teacher of the Year



Donald Whitaker, 2019 NIE Teacher of the Year

The 2022 NIE Teacher of the Year contest will recognize educators who:

- Use the *Tampa Bay Times* to enhance student learning and the learning environment
- Employ innovative newspaper-based lessons, strategies or projects to develop students' literacy skills
- Integrate the close reading of news into classroom instruction

The winning educator will be honored at an award reception in spring 2022 and will receive:

- \$1,500 cash prize
- Grand prize plaque
- Tampa Bay Times prize pack
- Invitation to present to newspapers from around Florida at the 2022 Florida Media Conference
- Reimbursement for conference lodging and travel

Up to five runners up will receive \$300 cash prizes

Visit tampabay.com/nie for official rules and to enter.